Tags

, , , , , , , ,

2007 and 2014 In Part I of this series I talked about receiving a wakeup call regarding my health, my future, and the future of my children.  I had allowed myself to lose control of my nutrition and physical wellbeing because I did not see myself in the Real Image, meaning, the image of God the Father and Creator, as written in Genesis 1:26-27.  Bottom line, I had very little self respect. As I declared in my first blog series, there is nothing more worthy of respect than God’s image. I knew when I saw the photo from June 10, 2006 (on the left), I had to change.  I had to answer the call.  Here’s what happened.

I started to pray like my life depended on it, because it did.  At first they were not only the quick little prayers that were and still are a part of my life, but long, emotional, painful prayers that came from my heart and soul and the very deepest parts of what makes me who I am.  These were prayers of repentance, asking for God’s forgiveness and His help as I began to forgive myself for what I had done to my body His temple, and for what I had potentially (unintentionally) done to my children by allowing them to practice the same patterns.  I prayed that they would forgive me.

My prayers changed after a few days as I asked for His strength and protection while I started to change my lifestyle.  With God’s help, and by His grace and mercy, I made a “cold turkey” change in my life.  I replaced unhealthy life patterns with healthy ones and did not look back even once!  I was becoming who I was meant to be.

I’ll confess now that this was one of the hardest things I ever did, but somehow, it was also the easiest.  I leaned on God completely.  I gave it all to Him. I could not do this without Him.  As I started to go to the gym regularly and to work with a trainer, I became more confident in the “me” I was becoming.  Make no mistake– I prayed before I went to the gym, every day.  I prayed that God’s strength and power would get me through before I picked up weights or did any exercise.  I still do.  I claimed Philippians 4:13 as my own, knowing without question that I could do all things through Christ who strengthened me.  I still do.

I also prayed for strength and wisdom before going to the grocery store.  I still do, though it requires a different kind of strength.  I still cannot do it alone.  I will talk more about that later.

One more thought about the trainer mentioned above.  He was also a youth minister at his church.  He said one of his missions in life was to “grab hold of the boys before they got lost on the busy streets”.   He had been educated as an Athletic Trainer and he was working with clients part time to support his ministry.

In the next entry I will discuss some of the results. I hope you like it!

 

